Select theme:
Ministry of Employment & Labour Relations logo

Ministry of Employment & Labour Relations

About Us

Brief History

Brief History

The Ministry of Employment and Labour Relations was established by the Civil Service Act, 1993 (PNDC Law 327). The Ministry by Executive Instrument (EI 12), January 2021 is mandated to formulate policies on employment and labour issues, develop sector plans, coordinate sector specific interventions, promote harmonious labour relations and workplace safety, promote the elimination of child labour, monitor and evaluate the implementation of policies, programmes and projects for accelerated employment creation for national development.

The Ministry executes its mandate through the development of employment and labour-related policies and strategies in tripartite consultations through the National Tripartite Committee (NTC) and other Social and Development Partners. The Vision of the Ministry is to promote decent jobs for all workers in Ghana and Ghanaians working abroad.

The Sector Ministry is headed by a Minister (Political Head), assisted by a Deputy Minister. Administratively, the Chief Director is the Head of the Ministry. The Administrative Head (Chief Director) is supported by Four (4) Line Directorates, Nine (9) Units, Three (3) Civil Service Departments and Nine (9) Agencies in the execution of his duties. They are:

  • Departments
    • Labour Department (LD)
    • Department of Co-operatives (DOC)
    • Department of Factories Inspectorate (DFI)
  • Agencies
    • Ghana Co-operative College (GCCo)
    • Ghana Co-operative Council (GCC)
    • National Labour Commission (NLC)
    • Fair Wages and Salaries Commission (FWSC)
    • Youth Employment Agency (YEA)
  • Subvented Agencies
    • National Pensions Regulatory Authority (NPRA)
    • Management, Development Productivity Institute (MDPI)